The Ministry of Education plans to build another eight more Vocational Colleges to ensure that the skilled work force in the country remains adequate.

Johor will have three new vocational colleges namely in Tanjung Piai, Pagoh and Pasir Gudang, while the other five will be built in Pasir Puteh (Kelantan), Kuala Berang (Terengganu), Pekan (Pahang), Dengkil (Selangor) and Gurun (Kedah).

The government had previously upgraded 15 vocational secondary schools to Vocational Colleges throughout the nation with Sarawak having one namely Kuching Vocational College (previously known as SM Vocational Kuching).

Vocational courses offer certificate and diploma level of education, with students at the lower form going through the Basic Vocational Programme (PAV) course.